Westboro Baptist Revealed: Evangelized, Interviewed, Reviewed

Post image for Westboro Baptist Revealed:  Evangelized, Interviewed, Reviewed

If the messages on the signs are not disturbing enough, how about the people holding them? They are children! My heart breaks to see a picture like this just hoping it is a photo-shopped picture. Unfortunately, it is not.

Last week I wrote Westboro Baptist To Share Hate In Atlanta to give folks a heads up. There are several recent church plants in Atlanta that are trying to save the city, so to speak, that it is sad that the Westboro folks come here allegedly in the name of Christ. It just ruins the witness of what Christians are seeking to do with bringing the Gospel to a broken city.

Thankfully, last year Pastor Josh Buice evangelized, interviewed and then reviewed the Westboro folks. I’ve provided links below to his posts. The series of posts is very insightful. It might help some of you Atlanta folks who might want to approach Westboro. I might be there myself, Lord willing. Though that is still being worked out.

I’ve compiled the above posts into one pdf file. Thanks again to brother Josh for his hard work in this area. Download here: Westboro Baptist Church Revealed

I’d love to hear some feedback on the above or if anyone has had any personal interactions.

Also, are there any Atlanta folks out there that would like to evangelize Westboro?

Bonus: Check out this Interview with Shirley Phelps-Roper of Westboro Baptist Church Chris Rosebrough did.

Tags: ,
The above article was posted on September 7, 2009 by Mark Lamprecht.
© 2004-2015. All rights reserved.


{ 9 comments… read them below or add one }

1 Jason Smathers September 7, 2009 at 2:01 pm

Last summer I saw these guys at the national SBC conference. I put my pastor in the awkward position of explaining exactly how the SBC was pro-homosexual. I didn’t know who they were until I went home and looked at their website… lovely stuff.

They know the law, but they need the Gospel.

I commend you efforts in attempting to evangelize them. I will pray that you are able and that God prepares their hearts so that they can respond with repentance and faith.

2 Jerry September 7, 2009 at 5:33 pm

I read through the materials you linked (How did I miss that last year?), and appreciate Josh’s work i getting his hands dirty with these folks. I was wishing that he asked one last question, but I am not sure that he would have received an answer:

“Is there anyone in Church History who you appreciate, and why?”

3 Mark Lamprecht September 7, 2009 at 10:43 pm

Jason, did you claim the SBC is pro homosexual? I’m a little confused, bro.

JerryI too very much appreciate Josh’s work. He did a great job and it’s not easy to go through stuff like that. I would have loved to hear the answer to that question.

4 Aaron Armstrong September 8, 2009 at 7:22 am

Honestly, I feel a little sick after reading that.

5 Jason September 8, 2009 at 10:31 pm

I am not making that claim. I am just saying that Westboro thinks the SBC is pro-homosexual. They had twisted signs at the SBC national convention summer 2008 indicating that. I did not understand it either… My pastor’s explination was that there were some isolated incidents in SBC churches.
.-= Jason´s last blog ..Greek Grammer in BibleWorks 8 =-.

6 Carl Holland December 2, 2010 at 11:25 pm

It is truly a shame to see all the attention this “church” gets. It’s ironic that my anti-spam word was graceful, because Westboro is certainly lacking in it. They have twisted Scripture into some kind of political statement and have given The Church a black eye in the process. This is what the media focuses on so that’s the brush non-believers paint the whole Church with, or at least Baptists. I pray that they come to know the loving grace of Jesus and see how their actions run counter to His teaching. I can think of no better glaring example of 1 Corinthians 13:1, “Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I have become sounding brass or a clanging cymbal.”

7 Even If Ministries December 17, 2012 at 11:16 pm

Mark,

My daughter and her husband were transferred to Topeka. We helped them move. As we arrived in Topeka, we saw them holding their signs at the street corner we had to turn at. A woman and her 4-5 year old daughter and some others. A guy asked how she could hate so much? She flipped him the bird and called him a MF’er.

Sad part is, these people know and have memorized many parts of the bible . . . based on their words and actions, they just have a clue what it means.

Perhaps the saddest part is that they don’t understand that they CAN’T understand any of the text because their actions and words say they don’t understand the following: Yeshua (Jesus) himself says that the Torah AND the Prophets are dependent on these 2 commands:

Matthew 22:33-40 (CJB)
33 When the crowds heard how he taught, they were astounded;
34 but when the P’rushim learned that he had silenced the Tz’dukim, they got together,
35 and one of them who was a Torah expert asked a sh’eilah to trap him:
36 “Rabbi, which of the mitzvot in the Torah is the most important?”

37 He told him, “‘You are to love Adonai your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength.’
38 This is the greatest and most important mitzvah.

39 And a second is similar to it, ‘You are to love your neighbor as yourself.’
40 All of the Torah and the Prophets are dependent on these two mitzvot.”

I won’t even go into the parable about the good Samaritan or 1st Corinthians 13.

Utterly sad . . .

8 Even If Ministries December 17, 2012 at 11:18 pm

I see that i left “DON’T out of the 2nd paragraph – sorry – They just “DON’T” have a clue what it means is how it should have read . . .

9 Mark December 18, 2012 at 9:08 am

EIM, wow!

.

Previous post:

Next post: